Link

Jodi Arias GUILTY Verdict

9 May

Jodi Arias GUILTY Verdict

I have always focused a lot of my research on the death penalty and the effects that it has on individuals.  In light of the recent commentary that Ms. Arias posed, I questioned my position again, which in the end stands strong.  

Ms. Arias is set for sentencing this Thursday after being found guilty of murder in Arizona recently. In response to the finding Ms. Arias had the following to say: 

She would “rather get death than life” and that death was the “ultimate freedom.”  “I said years ago I’d rather get death than life and that still is true today. I believe death is the ultimate freedom, so I’d rather just have my freedom as soon as I can get it,” she added.

Is death the ultimate freedom? Does the death penalty not allow those on death row to reflect on what happened, what they did and the harm they caused.  What about those that are innocent? Should those not have the opportunity to appeal and fix the wrongs of the system.  Is it proper to force these individuals to suffer from the death row syndrome by having to suffer a psychological sentence as well? Is death really the ultimate freedom?? 

ARIZONA’S DEATH PENALTY BACKGROUND: 

Capital punishment has been a feature of the Arizona criminal justice system since 1865, when Dolores Moore became the first recorded execution in the federal territory that is now the state of Arizona. 108 executions were carried out in Arizona before the national moratorium on executions was imposed by the US Supreme Court in 1972. Executions were generally carried out by method of hanging until 1934, when the first execution by gas chamber was carried out in Arizona. Lethal injection became Arizona’s primary method of execution on November 15th of 1992, however those sentenced to death before that date may still elect lethal gas as their method of execution. -deathpenaltyinfo.org

 

 

2 Responses to “Jodi Arias GUILTY Verdict”

  1. Private Investigator Guru May 9, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

    Thank you for all your hard work on this website. My daughter enjoys going through investigation and it is easy to understand why. A number of us know all of the powerful medium you present great tips and tricks by means of your web site and as well as foster response from visitors on the article while our own princess is now learning a whole lot. Take pleasure in the remaining portion of the year. Your performing a stunning job.

  2. Wilfred May 12, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

