Car Seat Laws California

20 May

Mommy Monday 

We are starting a new post on Mondays as a part of our blog series.  As a parent and as family law attorneys we take laws considering children seriously.  Make sure you are always up to date on the most recent legislation.

CAR SEAT LEGISLATION CALIFORNIA’S CURRENT LAWS

Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat. Our suggestions is to ensure your child’s safety keep them in a car seat as long as possible, but follow the guidelines from the manufacturer on the seat that you buy. 

Children under the age of 8 who are 4′ 9″ or taller may be secured by a safety belt in the back seat.

Children who are 8 years and over shall be properly secured in an appropriate child passenger restraint system or safety belt.

Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California’s Mandatory Seat Belt law.

Buckling up is the single most effective thing you can do to protect yourself in a crash. Also, seat belts are the best defense against impaired, aggressive, and distracted drivers.

 

If you ever need your car seat checked for safety, you can always stop by any CHP office to have them check it for you.  To find your local office utilize this website: http://www.chp.ca.gov/depts_divs_offs/geodiv.html

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: